Chancellor's DEI Council

Chancellor's DEI Council

The Chancellor’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council meets regularly throughout each academic year. Collectively, they develop and provide strategic oversight, coordination and collaboration of the University’s inclusive excellence goals through ensuring the implementation, monitoring, evaluation and sustainability of the Strategic Plan for Inclusive Excellence. As council representatives, their role is to raise awareness, promote understanding, diversity education and serve as a consultant on matters of equity for their college, unit or division. Each person is expected to leverage their direct experience with local culture to advise their executive leaders regarding strategy in institutional access and success, campus climate and culture, inclusive education and transformational scholarship, institutional infrastructure and sustainability and communication and shared language. 

Council Members

Banita Brown

Associate Dean for Academic & Student Success, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Regena Brown

Director of the Office of Academic Diversity and Inclusion

Celeste Corpening

Business/Technology Applications Analyst in OneIT and Chair of Staff Council


Christine Reed Davis

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Tehia Glass

Associate Professor in the Department of Reading and Elementary Education

Rob Gooljar 

Graduate & Professional Student Government Representative


Ragean Hill

Executive Associate Athletics Director

Yvette Huet

Professor of Kinesiology and Director of ADVANCE

Rich Leeman 

Professor in the Department of Communications Studies


Janaka Lewis

Associate Professor and Interim Director Center for the Study of the New South

Lewis Bowman

Operations Captain
Police and Public Safety

Michelle Reinken

Director of Title IX Compliance and Title IX Coordinator


Manuel Perez Quinones 

Professor in the Department Of Software & Information Systems

Denelle Eads

Professor and Employee Relations & Staff Development Librarian

Gary Stinnett

Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources and University Affirmative Action Officer


Myra George

Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment

Byron White

Associate Provost for Urban Research and Community Engagement

Dede Effon

Student Government Association Chair of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion